top of page


Dr. Friedrich-Sasse-Preis Award to the School Founder prof. Serafino Zappacosta in 2000.

On 4 November 2000, during a ceremony held in Berlin at the Institut für Infektionsmedizin of the Freie Universität Berlin, Serafino Zappacosta was awarded the Dr.-Friedrich-Sasse-Preis for the year 1997. The award had been intended, since the institution of the Dr.-Friedrich-Sasse Stiftung in 1979, to honour eminent scientists in the field of immunology. The justification of the prize was as follows: 

"The Board of Trustees decided to select you on the grounds of your continuous contributions to the development of immunology in the framework of the Scuola Superiore d'Immunologia Ruggero Ceppellini in Napoli. In particular, the Board of Trustees acknowledges the efforts and high quality of the work of the Scuola Superiore over the years in spreading immunological knowledge amongst young scientists from Europe as well as from underdeveloped countries. The Board of Trustees furthermore acknowledges the fact that, in order to do this, you had to overcome tremendous obstacles despite of which you have succeeded over the years to enrich the international immunological scenery considerably."

Honorary membership to the Italian Society for Immunology, Clinical Immunology and Allergology (SIICA) awarded to the School President Silvia Fontana Zappacosta in 2016.

On 28 May 2016, the general Assembly of SIICA, during its X National Congress held in Abano Terme, awarded Silvia Fontana Zappacosta, President of the ”Ruggero Ceppellini Advanced School of Immunology”, with the title of Honorary SIICA Member. The justification was as follows: 

“For her constant and generous dedication in promoting and spreading immunological culture, particularly for the success as President of the ”Ruggero Ceppellini Advanced School of Immunology”, strenuously continuing the work of his founder Serafino Zappacosta” 

bottom of page